From the Start: The 25th Anniversary of The James Beard Awards

This year marks the 25 anniversary of the prestigious James Beard Awards. Often called “The Oscars of Food,” nominees are recognized for their excellence in cuisine, culinary writing, and culinary education. It stands as the nation’s highest honor in the culinary arts. Established in 1990, Jacques had the unique honor of being one of the foundations very first nominees, eventually winning the award for Pastry Chef of the Year in 1992. Fellow James Beard Award winners include Wolf Gang Puck, Emeril Lagasse, Mario Batali and so many more great American chefs.

FullSizeRender 2Jacques takes the podium after winning the James Beard Foundation Pastry Chef of the Year, 1992

FullSizeRenderJacques pictured with fellow award winner Wolf Gang Puck and presenter Jacques Pepin, 1992

To read the full article on the establishing of the James Beard Foundation, click here.